For All of Us

file00025299544

For my first post – I thought I’d share a sentimental attempt at poetry. Read at your own risk.

 

As a child I envisioned a much different future.

For me,

for you,

for all of us.

It seems that we all walk on a tight rope

over a gaping crevasse

Trying desperately to stay balanced

I see you slip

I reach out my hand

Half afraid I will be pulled down too

Into the darkness

I try to forget my fear of falling

To walk as if I walk on sturdy ground

But I’ll always be afraid

For me,

for you,

for all of us.

As a child I envisioned a much different future.

We would be smiling

Everyone would be safe and well

The sky would be full of promise

Any cracks we had would be mended

Pieced back to together like a broken vase

Still beautiful but more fragile than ever

We’d be handled with care

We’d stand together

We’d face the sun full of courage

That’s what I want

For me,

for you,

for all of us.

As a child I envisioned a much different future.

But this is not the end of the story

Many pages are still left unwritten

Hope may lie on the next page

Our story is not a tragedy

Unless we make it so

We can find a resolution

If we only believe that it exists

We may be scarred

We may be broken

But we’ll make it through

For me,

for you,

for all of us.

