Bare Necessities Journal Entry 2: Broke

Copy Right A Decade of Wanderers 2013

Copy Right A Decade of Wanderers 2013

May 1st was the start of my spending challenge. It was also the day I looked at my bank account and realized I only had $70 in the bank even after my paycheck!

I had to pay $30 to my school and the minimum payment of $10 on my credit card. I couldn’t remember ever getting this low before. But I sort of knew this would happen. Thankfully I have a second checking account and a savings account. I transferred $30 from the savings acccount to add a little bit of cushion, though it didn’t really do much. The spending challenge couldn’t have started sooner.
I had been debating with myself whether I was being too hard on myself, saying I was going to stop driving my car as much as possible and that I was going to take the bus instead. But with less than $100 in my bank account I knew it was time to simplify.
So May 2nd I got up at 5:10 am, an hour earlier than usual, for work. Then I walked a few blocks to the bus stop. It was slushy on the sidewalk and my shoes were getting wet, because here in Nebraska it decided to snow in May!!!
Thankfully it wasn’t too cold out. I made it onto the bus just fine, and it dropped me off near the mall, which I had to walk a mile and a half from to get to work. I actually got to work half an hour early and didn’t know what to do with myself, but at least I wasn’t late 🙂
