Bare Necessities Journal Entry 3: More Than Broke

I’m treading water.

illus083

Image from Swimming Scientifically Taught

But I don’t know how long I can keep my head up.

I’m preparing to be more than broke.

If I end up being able to make it free and clear this month I’ll be singing the theme song from “Good Times”.

Good Times.
Any time you meet a payment
Good Times
Any time you need a friend
Good Times
Any time you’re out from under

Not getting hassled, not getting hustled
Keepin’ your head above water
Making a wave when you can

Temporary lay offs
Good Times
Easy credit rip offs
Good Times
Scratchin’ and surviving
Good Times
Hangin in a chow line
Good Times
Ain’t we lucky we got ’em
Good Times.

Despite a slight windfall (a co-worker buying 2 custom drawings from me) and cutting my driving way down (I took the bus and biked whenever possible) I still will have  a lot of difficulty paying my bills.

The culprits for my predicament are 2 bills that I regularly don’t have:

Car registration $169

Phone Bill $50

I have only recently started having to pay my phone bill. Why? It’s complicated. Trust it’s for a good reason. And an extra $169 bill? Ain’t no body got time for that! But, of course I should’ve planned for this.

Note to self, remember this next year when you get your tax return!

I’ll update you guys on whether I make it through the month unscathed.

biting_nails

Thankfully I don’t bite my nails. That’s a bad habit.

