Bare Necessities Journal Entry 4: Life is Like Riding a Bicycle

“Life is like riding a bicycle. To keep your balance, you must keep moving.”
― Albert Einstein
albert_einstein riding a bike
How true is that quote? It’s fitting for my life, because this month I’ve had to utilize a bike borrowed from a friend a great deal in order to get to and from work. This month putting gas in the car again and again was just too expensive. In fact, it was impossible.
I think I’ve learned some huge lessons this month from my low amount of cash. I’ve learned that I can save a whole lot by not driving all the time and that I can survive riding the bus or a bike. I learned that I’m capable of getting up at 5 in the morning, riding to work, working a 9 hour shift, and them biking home. I learned that God has always made sure that I have what I absolutely need, food, clothing, and shelter. Although I could not buy luxuries like a coffee or muffin when out with friends, or clothing, or fast food, I never went naked, hungry, or slept outside in the rain.
I was able to pay my bills without overdrafting and I started to take notice and be happy about the little things in life. I smiled as I saw the red winged blackbirds by the trail. I enjoyed watching the cute baby geese (goslings) splash into the pond by work to swim with their parents.
In this country people avoid discomfort like the plague. People stay indoors in front of screens on a beautiful warm day and they buy meals out instead of preparing them themselves. Learning to let go of the convenient (often times costlier) solution to a problem has actualy decreased my anxiety and helped me live more intentionally.
I think Einstein was onto something with his quote. When the going gets tough, you have choices. You could stop and give up. You could do what you’ve always done, even if it obviously isn’t working anymore. Or you could reevaluate and move in a new direction. That’s what I hope I am doing.
